Our Leadership

Dear Friends,

This is truly an exciting and transformative time for the IDSA Foundation. As we look back at our many accomplishments over the years, the IDSA Foundation is proud to play a part in helping to introduce, engage and excite thousands of potentially new ID leaders to explore the impact they can make in the field of infectious diseases.

Our goal is to increase the amount of grant funds we provide and to position the organization as the leading resource to the next generation of ID leaders and those effected by infectious diseases globally.

Our path forward is optimistically clear. We are taking bold steps onward to achieve our vision of a world free from the burdens of infectious diseases.

I hope you will join us today in being a part of the IDSA Foundation’s innovative progress! You can get involved by becoming a volunteer, mentoring a rising ID leader, or making a donation to support our impactful programs. My hope is we all can make it a priority to live in a world free from the burdens of infectious diseases.

With sincerity,











Stephen Peeler, CFRE

Executive Director

IDSA Foundation

Our 2020-2021 Board of Directors


Thomas Fekete, MD, FIDSA [2021]
Temple University Medical School

Paul Auwaerter, MD, MBA, FIDSA [2023]
Vice Chair
John Hopkins University

Helen W. Boucher, MD, FIDSA [2021]
Tufts Medical Center

Stephen Calderwood, MD FIDSA [2023] 
Massachusetts General Hospital

Eliot W. Godofsky MD, FACP, FIDSA [2022]
Bach & Godofsky

Sarah Long MD, FIDSA [2021]
St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children

Russell Petrak MD [2021]
Metro Infectious Disease Consultants

Barbara E. Murray, MD [2022]
University of Texas Health Science Center

Johan S. Bakken, MD, PhD, FIDSA [2021]
Retired; St. Luke’s ID Associates

Chris Busky, CAE
Chief Executive Officer